A new normal – trying to stay positive 

It has been 16 months since I was diagnosed with PCOS and Insulin Resistance.

16 months. 36 pounds lost. 9 pills a day. 1 injection a week. 1 chemical pregnancy. 

While I know I have had a battle and I have been a successful warrior, I am feeling…exhausted. Exhausted from feeling like this condition is consuming my identity. Exhausted from frustrations of not being able to start a family. Exhausted from all of it to the point that I don’t even want to be around my own thoughts any more.

Tonight I looked back at photos of my self 36 pounds heavier and am feeling shocked at how I looked. During the heaviest weight of my life I will forever be immortalized in 3 different sets of wedding photos where I was honored to serve as bridesmaid. I look back and can see how far I have come, but wonder how far I have to go.

This blog and this community have given me strength when I have needed it most. Now as I wait (with some super fun GI problems from my medication) on the eve of an endocrinologist appointment, I am praying my levels will be ok. Praying for progress. And praying for the ability to give my husband a family.

I am so thankful I am alive. Thankful for my progress. Hopeful things will continue to get better. This journey really has no end. So I look to you – my strong inspirations- who continue to fight and succeed with PCOS and IR. Thank you for sharing your stories and voicing support. Thank you for reminding me I am not alone.

We can all do this – we won’t stop, we will keep fighting. 

 

4 thoughts on “A new normal – trying to stay positive 

  1. You are an amazing trooper.
    Would you mind if I asked what pills you are taking each day? And what levels they check?
    I have PCOS and IR as well as a slow metabolism so they have me on Metformin and Oroxine. I am having serious difficulties with the weightloss though.

    Like

  2. Glad to see you posting again. I understand the frustration. I just had blood work drawn because I have PCOS but have struggled to lose weight no matter how much I exercise or eat healthy. I know the frustration and the setbacks it can cause. Head up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! Just stumbled upon your blog. I also have IR and PCOS. Your struggles/story sound so much like my own!!!!! I have definitely fallen off the “bandwagon” so to speak lately when it comes to eating healthy (I love my sweets!). This has given me inspiration and reminded me that no matter how much temptation to eat carbs is against me, I have a way more important reason to stick with it – a future baby (hopefully!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

