Marriage and PCOS

There is an article right? Or a tutorial? Or something to navigate communicating to your partner the pain you feel and why they should understand?

I tried. I even have a post about it. But there is no explanation. There is no way. No one can really understand no matter how much they love you and want to help. It is like anything…until you have been through it, you can’t understand.

So here I am. Out on a date with a man I have been committed to for 10 years. A man I love. A man who has tried. But he can’t understand.

I try to be a blog about positivity. I try to find the silver lining. But I also am honest. Always honest. And I will say – going through PCOS and IR with a partner who isn’t…is lonely.

Please don’t get me wrong. I love him and our relationship. But he just doesn’t get it. He can’t.

So here I am…sitting at a bar…next to my husband  and writing to you. Thank goodness this crazy world has made it normal for a couple on a date to be on their phones next to each other.

But here is the thing. I am SO thankful he isn’t going through this. I am so thankful he doesn’t have the pain that I do and that he doesn’t understand this.

So I will take a deep breath. And another drink of wine (because hey – I feel nauseated anyway) and I will make this a great night. Because I love him. And because we only have this moment we are given. 

3 thoughts on “Marriage and PCOS

  1. I fully understand how you feel. My boyfriend is a very privileged person, who never really went through poverty, who never really had any serious health issues, physical or mental. It makes it difficult for him to relate to me and understand how I feel, why everyday things are difficult and sometimes impossible, why frivolous spending of money makes me uncomfortable. Sometimes it’s really hard om him.

    But he tries. He invests time and energy into finding ways to help me. He listens to me when I try to explain. He makes an effort! I’m sure your husband is the same way.

    We didn’t choose our ailments, but our partners choose us, and they’re sticking with us and trying. That’s more than other people do. I know it’s hard on my bf, but I remind myself that the best way for me to make it easier on him is to not focus on “He’ll never understand and it’s so hard on him”. The fact he tries and stays are worth everything to me, and I try to focus on how lucky I am instead! It really helps on these kind of days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

